Area city council candidates set as filing closes

The candidate filing period for city council races without a primary closed Aug. 14 and the following candidates have filed for elected office in Shoreview, Arden Hills, Mounds View, Lauderdale and Little Canada.

In Shoreview, incumbent Mayor Sandy Martin, who has held the seat since 1996, will be up against challenger Richard Mester. Martin has an opponent for the first time since 2008. 

There are two Shoreview City Council seats up for election this fall. Incumbent council members Terry Quigley and Cory Springhorn are seeking re-election against challengers Douglas Blomberg, Jesse Ray Ehrenreich and William Harris. Quigley was appointed to the council in 2001 and has won a seat in each election since. Springhorn was elected in 2014.  

In Arden Hills, incumbent Mayor David Grant is running unopposed and will very likely begin his third term next year. 

Three candidates are vying for two Arden Hills council seats, currently held by council members Fran Holmes and Steve Scott. Both are running this fall for re-election against challenger Greg Rubenstein. The end of the year marks the end of Holmes’ third term on the council, as well as the end of the two-year term Scott won in a special election in 2016. 

In Mounds View, incumbent Mayor Carol Mueller is running unopposed and should skate into her second term next year. Incumbent council members Bill Bergeron and Al Hull are also both running unopposed for their council seats. Hull has been on the council since 2006, Bergeron won his seat by special election in 2017. 

In Lauderdale, incumbent Mayor Mary Gaasch is finishing out her first term and running unopposed for a second. 

Two city council seats are open. Incumbent council members Roxanne Grove and Andi Moffatt have filed for re-election and face one challenger, Zak Knudson.

In Little Canada, Mayor John Keis is running unopposed for re-election — he’s been a council member since 2004 and was elected as mayor in 2014. It’s a three-way race for two seats on the city council. Incumbent council members Tom Fischer and Christian Torkelson are being challenged by Andrew Henderson. Both Fischer and Torkelson are seeking second terms.


— Solomon Gustavo

Rate this article: 
No votes yet
Comment Here